Quick facts
- Registration is not a licence, and the board licenses the registered name
- Filing with the Secretary of State creates the entity. It does not authorise construction work: that comes from the Contractors Licensing Board under one of two separate laws. It matters in the other direction too, because both board rule sets issue licences only under the name on the application and state that use of any other name may constitute a violation. Settle the legal name at registration, because that is the name the board will licence.Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board; Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026)
- LLC and corporation filing fees are the same
- The Secretary of State lists the Certificate of Organization for a domestic LLC, form LL-01, at $45.00 online and $50.00 on paper, and Articles of Incorporation for a domestic corporation, form DN-01, at the same $45.00 online and $50.00 paper. A name reservation, form RN-06, is $22.50 online and $25.00 paper, and an application for a fictitious name is $22.50 online and $25.00 paper.Arkansas Secretary of State LLC Forms and Fees; Arkansas Secretary of State Corporation Forms and Fees
- Your registered agent needs a real Arkansas street address
- The Secretary of State describes the registered agent as the mailbox for the corporation and states that the registered agent address "must be a street address in Arkansas, and the agent must be located at that address", and that a post office box or mail drop may not be used as the registered agent address.Arkansas Secretary of State Business Services FAQ
- Two annual dates start the moment you register
- The Annual LLC Franchise Tax Report states that "ALL LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES PAY $150.00" and that reports and taxes are due on or before May 1, with penalty and interest after that date. Once you hold a sales tax permit, the DFA due-dates calendar shows a Sales and Use Tax Monthly Report for the previous month on the 20th of each month, plus first and second prepayment dates.Arkansas Annual LLC Franchise Tax Report 2026; Arkansas DFA Sales and Use Tax Due Dates
Choose the name once, because three different offices will hold it
Before you file anything, understand that your company name is about to exist in three separate places and they do not update each other. The Secretary of State holds the registered entity name. The Contractors Licensing Board holds the licensed name, which it will not vary from. And the Department of Finance and Administration holds the taxpayer record. Changing the name later means changing all three.
The board is the strictest of the three, so let it drive. Both rule sets state that all licences and registrations are issued under the name and address on the front of the application form and that use of any other name may constitute a violation, and both require the licensee to notify the board in writing of any name, address, ownership or other change relating to the licence within fifteen days. Ark. Code Ann. 17-25-508 states that residential licensees may act as such only in the name under which they are licensed.
The Secretary of State publishes a business name availability search and recommends running it before filing, alongside its Doing Business in Arkansas booklet and its FAQ pages. If you want to hold a name while you get the rest organised, form RN-06 reserves it for $22.50 online or $25.00 on paper.
Fictitious names are a separate filing and, for corporations, a doubled one. The Secretary of State states that no corporation, domestic or foreign, can conduct business in the state under a fictitious name unless it first files with the Secretary of State and, in the case of a domestic corporation, with the county clerk of the county in which the corporation registered office is located. An application for a fictitious name is $22.50 online or $25.00 on paper. None of this changes what the licensing board licensed.
Official sources: Arkansas Secretary of State: For New Business; Arkansas Secretary of State Business Services FAQ; Arkansas Secretary of State Corporations FAQ; Arkansas Secretary of State LLC Forms and Fees; Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026)
File the entity, and have four things ready before you start
The LL-01 Certificate of Organization for Limited Liability Company is short, and the four items it asks for are the four decisions you should have made already. It wants the company name, which must contain Limited Liability Company, Limited Company, or one of the abbreviations L.L.C., L.C., LLC or LC. It wants the physical street address of the principal office of business. It wants the name and address of the registered agent. And it wants the name and title of at least one officer, member or manager, expressly for franchise tax purposes.
Professional service companies get an extra naming rule on the same form: a company performing a professional service must additionally carry Professional Limited Liability Company, Professional Limited Company, or one of P.L.L.C., P.L.C., PLLC or PLC, and must not contain the name of a person who is not a member, except a deceased member.
The registered agent line is the one that trips up owners working out of a truck. A street address in Arkansas is required, the agent must actually be located at that address, and a post office box or mail drop will not do. If you have no fixed premises, this is the point at which to arrange a commercial registered agent rather than to improvise.
Filing is available online or on paper, at $45.00 and $50.00 respectively, and the printed form itself carries the paper price of $50.00. The Secretary of State publishes its own turnaround expectation for all corporation and LLC filings: mailed documents 3 to 5 business days after receipt, dropped-off documents 3 to 5 business days, and online filings 3 to 5 business days. Plan a start date around that rather than assuming online is instant.
Then, and only then, get the EIN. The Secretary of State instruction is explicit about the sequence: apply for an EIN with the IRS after you have filed and received your new entity.
Official sources: Arkansas Certificate of Organization for Limited Liability Company (LL-01); Arkansas Secretary of State LLC Forms and Fees; Arkansas Secretary of State: For New Business; Arkansas Secretary of State Business Services FAQ
Register with the Department of Finance and Administration
Arkansas charges for the sales tax permit, which surprises people who have registered in states where it is free. The Department of Finance and Administration states a "$50.00 sales tax permit fee to be paid electronically upon submission", and registration runs through the Arkansas Taxpayer Access Point at atap.arkansas.gov.
Three conditions on that page are worth reading before you start the application rather than after. The department asks you to allow up to two weeks for processing. Other tax liabilities must be cleared before a new permit will be issued. And the location address cannot be a post office box, which is the same constraint the registered agent rule imposes and another reason to settle a real address early. The department also asks for a signed lease agreement if you are leasing, or a bill of sale if you are buying an existing business, plus the date operations will begin.
Know the rate you are registering to collect. The department own rate table lists State Sales and Use Tax at 6.500%, effective 07/01/2013, and city and county rates apply on top depending on where the items are first delivered in Arkansas. A bid priced at the state rate alone will be short.
Official sources: Arkansas DFA Register for a Tax Account; Arkansas DFA State Sales and Use Tax Rates
The annual obligations that start immediately
The franchise tax report is the one that catches new LLC owners in their second year, because nothing about the first-year filing announces itself. The 2026 Annual LLC Franchise Tax Report states plainly that "ALL LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES PAY $150.00" and that reports and taxes are "due on or before May 1", with penalty and interest due if the postmark is after the deadline. The instructions add that if the report is timely filed, all limited liability companies are liable for only the $150.00 payment.
Two features of that deadline are worth internalising. There is no extension available: the instructions state that Acts 1046 and 1140 of 1991 eliminated the opportunity to request an extension and that all reports are due on or before May 1. And you do not get to blame the mail: companies not receiving a form by March 20 must make a written request for paper forms, and all companies must comply with the May 1 due date regardless.
This guide does not state a corporate franchise tax amount, because only the LLC report was read and corporations are computed differently. If you incorporate rather than form an LLC, get that figure from the Secretary of State directly rather than assuming the LLC number applies.
On the sales tax side, the DFA due-dates calendar shows the same three entries every month: a Sales and Use Tax 1st Prepayment on the 12th, a Sales and Use Tax Monthly Report for the previous month on the 20th, and a Sales and Use Tax 2nd Prepayment later in the month. This guide does not state the dollar thresholds that decide whether you file monthly, quarterly or annually, because no official page stating them was located; confirm your assigned frequency with the department when your permit issues.
Official sources: Arkansas Annual LLC Franchise Tax Report 2026; Arkansas DFA Sales and Use Tax Due Dates; Arkansas Secretary of State Corporations FAQ
What registration does not do, in three sentences you should read twice
Registering with the Secretary of State does not authorise you to perform construction work in Arkansas. It does not exempt you from the Contractors Licensing Board, and it does not substitute for a city or county requirement. The board licences and the entity registration are separate records, and you generally need both.
The two board thresholds decide whether you need a licence at all. Commercial work other than single-family residences requires a licence at a cost of $50,000 or more including labour and materials. Residential work on a single-family residence, meaning one to four units, requires a licence once the cost of the work exceeds $2,000. Residential roofing requires its own registration certificate and a $15,000 surety bond. Every commercial licensee also files a $10,000 bond with the board before commencing work, as a condition of licensure.
Local requirements are the gap this guide cannot close for you. No Arkansas city or county occupational or business licence was researched for this article, so no amount or rule is stated for any municipality. Ask the city and the county where your shop sits, and the ones where you intend to work, before you assume the state records are the whole picture. One state-level rule points the same way: a building inspector in an incorporated city or town may not issue a permit for work costing $50,000 or more until the applicant furnishes proof of licensure or exemption.
Official sources: Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
Check the Board's own book before you file or sign
Arkansas makes this easier than most states and there is no excuse for working from a summary. The Contractors Licensing Board publishes the entire commercial law and the entire residential law, statutes and promulgated rules together, as two PDFs on its own website, both revised April 2026. Every threshold, net-worth figure, bond amount and fee rule quoted in this guide is in one of those two books, and you can search them yourself in about a minute.
Do that before you file an application, sign a contract or buy a bond, and keep a dated copy of what you read. Where a rule and a statute appear to disagree, the statute controls. Where you cannot tell which law your job falls under, call the board at the number on its contact page before you commit money, because the cost of guessing in Arkansas is not just a rejected application: it is a Class A misdemeanor per day and, on the commercial side, the loss of your right to sue for what you are owed.
Official sources: Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board; Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026)
Common questions
How much does it cost to register a contracting company in Arkansas?
The Secretary of State lists the Certificate of Organization for a domestic LLC, form LL-01, at $45.00 online and $50.00 on paper, and Articles of Incorporation for a domestic corporation, form DN-01, at $45.00 online and $50.00 paper. Add a $50.00 sales tax permit fee paid electronically to the Department of Finance and Administration on registration, and, for an LLC, a $150.00 annual franchise tax due on or before May 1. Optional items include a $22.50 online or $25.00 paper name reservation and a $22.50 online or $25.00 paper fictitious name application. None of those figures include contractor licensing, bonds or insurance.
Official sources: Arkansas Secretary of State LLC Forms and Fees; Arkansas Secretary of State Corporation Forms and Fees; Arkansas DFA Register for a Tax Account; Arkansas Annual LLC Franchise Tax Report 2026
Does registering with the Arkansas Secretary of State let me start contracting?
No. It creates the legal entity only. Authority to perform construction work comes from the Contractors Licensing Board under either the Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, which applies to non-single-family work of $50,000 or more including labour and materials, or the Residential Contractors Licensing Law, which applies to single-family work once the cost exceeds $2,000. Residential roofing requires a separate registration certificate. Local city or county requirements may also apply and are not covered by either record.
Official sources: Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board
Can I use a PO box for my Arkansas contracting company?
Not for the two records that matter most. The Secretary of State states that the registered agent address must be a street address in Arkansas, that the agent must be located at that address, and that a post office box or mail drop may not be used. The Department of Finance and Administration separately states that the location address on a new tax account registration cannot be a post office box. The LL-01 form also asks for the physical street address of the principal office of business.
Official sources: Arkansas Secretary of State Business Services FAQ; Arkansas DFA Register for a Tax Account; Arkansas Certificate of Organization for Limited Liability Company (LL-01)
Can I trade under a different name than the one on my Arkansas licence?
Not for board purposes. Ark. Code Ann. 17-25-508 says contractors licensed under the residential subchapter "may act as such only in the name under which they are licensed by the Residential Contractors Committee." Both rule sets repeat it: all licences and registrations are issued under the name and address listed on the front of the application form, and "The use of any other name may constitute a violation" (17 CAR 255-201(a), 17 CAR 295-102(a)). Any name, address or ownership change must be reported to the board in writing within fifteen days. A fictitious name filed with the Secretary of State is a separate record and does not change what the board licensed.
Official sources: Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. April 2026); Arkansas Secretary of State Corporations FAQ
General educational information, not legal, tax, licensing, or insurance advice. Rules, fees, deadlines, and local requirements change. Confirm every item with the responsible agency before relying on it.